Elan Valley Trail (Wales)

I rode an old favourite route today around the Elan Valley Trail near Rhayader, Wales.

Not a fast route but the views are awesome, although the dams are looking worryingly low! :grimacing:

7 Likes

That looks lovely @geoffb, I have heard itā€™s well worth it; will give it a go this summer hopefully!!

ETA just looked at a map; less than 80 miles for me door - to - door. Very nice!

1 Like

I think I may still have to add a yellow Daytona to my garage. Every time I see one Iā€™m reminded of how lovely they look.

2 Likes

I always think that theyā€™re lovely looking bikes when I see one too. In fact lots of bikes look brilliant in yellow, whereas it takes a special car to carry the colour off!!

2 Likes

@geoffb in fact can I ask a silly question? I am assuming that this is OK for my novice skill level? Nothing horribly technical? I would say I am a competent novice and am fine up around Crossgates etc and used to twisty rural roads but still only have a few thousand miles on a ā€œbig bikeā€.

1 Like

Beautiful looking bike and that ride is stunning. :grinning:

1 Like

@MrsVisor I think you would be fine because the pace is slow and visibility is good (on a nice day). I suppose the considerations for a novice rider would be the narrow road when passing and lots of cyclists. You might want to avoid this downhill hair pin bend though! :face_with_peeking_eye:

Thank you, donā€™t want to write cheques that my skill level canā€™t cash!!!

1 Like

Get up the top of the valley and the roads are pretty narrow and surfaces arenā€™t the best but donā€™t let that put you off, its a great day out.

5 Likes

I stayed in that valley a couple of months ago. I didnā€™t notice it being especially tricky because the road is quite wide and you can clearly see the road is clear before you start. Also, on the hairpin itself you can stop, park-up and have a sit on the bench. :grinning:

2 Likes