Head gaskets

Alongside my Thunderbird sport…

… I also have a GSXR track bike, bought cheap to have a go for a bit of fun… its quickly got expensive and serious!

Long story short (ish), it’s boiling over and having checked etc all the cooling system I csme to the conclusion that the head gasket must be blown between the exhaust and coolant passages.
The reason being that it’s so heavily baffled to pass sound check that the back pressure has blown it (?).
It’s fine idling, but on track, higher revs/under load it boils and blows the coolant out of the overflow.

So (I’ve never done this before :grimacing:), I removed the head to inspect the gasket … I have no idea what a failed one would look like!

There’s no obvious crack or split (I assume that it will be a very slight failure seeing as it holds until a lot of pressure is generated). There is a black rubbery like layer between the metal layers which seems to be missing or deteriorated in places, shown in 1 picture slightly blocking the coolant hole, is that a failure?

Should the layers be split like this?

Does anyone have the experience to tell from these pictures?

Any help would be appreciated, cheers Chaps!

2 Likes

Use this for spare parts!!?? :wink:

Ooooo, it’s black too … she probably wouldn’t notice the difference :smirk:

Until a real expert comes along, just this: Have you checked the condition of the spark plugs? Is one (or more) very clean, as in steam cleaned?

It’s delaminating i think, could some material be blocking a coolant gallery or the radiator? I’d start by flushing the radiator then checking the thermostat in a jug of water, also replace the head gasket. I’m surprised you are running coolant and not straight water or waterless coolant.

1 Like

The plugs have only done 1 day at brands, they’re all of equal (slight) discoloring.
I had done a full service, including flushing the rad, I don’t have the experience to know how quickly water should pass through it, but it did.