Speed Triple 1200RS owners opinion

I thought I would write up a real world opinion of my ownership of my Speed Triple 1200 RS. It’s not exactly a long term review – I’ve only owned it about nine months and 1200 miles. I’m a fair weather biker and don’t ride through the winter.

Let’s start with the practical stuff – comfort.

Much has been written and said about the 1200RS’ overly stiff suspension, and I sort of agree and sort of don’t. The Ohlins is clearly top quality kit and fully adjustable, and if you’re prepared to put in some time and effort you can dial out much of the harshness. I’ve softened mine up to a point beyond Triumph’s recommended “comfort” setting, and while still a bit firm, I find it now works perfectly well on the road and it’s only the worst roads that now create a problem for me. I could soften it a bit further, but I’m no suspension expert and don’t want to compromise the bikes handling. I think where Triumph has got it wrong is that I think my setting should be a mid-point one rather than virtually fully soft. This is a naked road bike, not a track focussed sports bike! Come on Triumph, people who want their bike to be primarily track focussed buy sports bikes, not super-nakeds! The first time I rode my new bike after delivery, it actually knocked me clean out of the seat over one bump, but it doesn’t do that any more now I’ve spent some time tuning the suspension.