What do you do for a living?

I’m just being nosey really.

I’ll start.

I’m a semi-retired accountant but please don’t hold that against me. By accountant standards, I’m fairly interesting, although admittedly that’s not setting the bar very high.

7 Likes

We’re very inclusive here. Even semi-retired accountants are allowed in and treated like normal people :wink:

I can say this as a not-retired-at-all person who works in IT, which usually has people glazing over and edging towards the door at parties.

5 Likes

Well hello, you might recognise my moniker. After having two jobs in 32 years (Retail management and recruitment) i found myself having 3 jobs in 18 months. This led to some soul searching and a decision to be responsible for myself and my actions rather than be accountable for the actions of 100’s of other people. So i retrained and am now an HGV driver. Luckily it just preceded the current driver shortage so i went from earning less than i was used to, to more for less responsibility. Winner, winner, chicken dinner.

7 Likes

Work for a very large online retailer and have been for almost 10 years. Have had many roles that make me feel a bit like Chandler from Friends. Family and friends have no clue really what the job entailed for most of my roles.

4 Likes

elcome to the forum, stinger!

That’s quite a change of office. Good for you, though. Changing career direction isn’t easy. Glad it’s worked out for you. Do you travel in to Europe as part of the job? Or should I say, queue up to drive in to Europe.

I work for an American company and fix ct, vascular and all x-ray systems in the midlands.
Mustn’t grumble too much (although i do) as if nothings broken, i stay at home and still get paid…
Yes, more farkles for triumpy!

5 Likes

Well I’m a fabricator/vehicle restorer of some sorts that also does property maintenance who works on escalators………… who used to teach MJ dance in my spare time…… phew that was the easiest I’ve ever explained that!!

5 Likes